Modern History

List of Indian National Congress Sessions & Their Presidents l


The Indian National Congress (INC) was established in 1885 and it grew to become one of the most important political parties in pre-independence India. The first Indian National Congress session was held in 1885. Knowing the dates of Indian National Congress sessions and their presidents is important for IAS Exam.

Starting as an organisation comprising only of the educated elite in India, it later became a party of commoners with prominent leaders like Lajpat Rai, Bal Gangadar Tilak, Gandhi, Nehru, Bose, etc. as its members.

web Banner 2

Indian National Congress is a topic that comes under History subject for prelims and Mains GS-1 and History Optional of UPSC exam. This article will provide you with the list of Indian National Congress Presidents.

Daily News

Indian National Congress Sessions

Indian National Congress founders: Allan Octavian Hume, Dadabhai Naoroji and Dinshaw Edulji Wacha. Indian National Congress was founded on 28 December 1885. The topic is important for UPSC Mains too.

The list of Indian National Congress sessions with their Presidents are given in the table below, with reference to the civil services exam:

Year Location President Importance
1885 Bombay W C Bonnerjee 1st session attended by 72 delegates
1886 Calcutta Dadabhai Naoroji National Congress and National Conference
1887 Madras Syed Badruddin Tyabji Appeal made to Muslims to join hands with other national leaders
1888 Allahabad George Yule First English president
1889 Bombay Sir William Wedderburn
1890 Calcutta Feroz Shah Mehta
1891 Nagpur P. Ananda Charlu
1892 Allahabad W C Bonnerjee
1893 Lahore Dadabhai Naoroji
1894 Madras Alfred Webb
1895 Poona Surendranath Banerjee
1896 Calcutta Rahimtullah M. Sayani National song ‘Vande Mataram’ sung for the first time
1897 Amravati C. Sankaran Nair
1898 Madras Ananda Mohan Bose
1899 Lucknow Romesh Chandra Dutt
1900 Lahore N G Chandavarkar
1901 Calcutta Dinshaw E. Wacha
1902 Ahmedabad Surendranath Banerjee
1903 Madras Lal Mohan Ghosh
1904 Bombay Sir Henry Cotton
1905 Benares Gopal Krishna Gokhale Expressed resentment against the partition of Bengal
1906 Calcutta Dadabhai Naoroji The word ‘Swaraj’ was mentioned for the first time
1907 Surat Rash Behari Ghosh Party splits into extremists and moderates
1908 Madras Rash Behari Ghosh Previous session continued
1909 Lahore Madan Mohan Malaviya Indian Councils Act, 1909
1910 Allahabad Sir William Wedderburn
1911 Calcutta Bishan Narayan Dhar ‘Jana Gana Mana’ sung for the first time
1912 Bankipore (Patna) Raghunath Narasinha Mudholkar
1913 Karachi Syed Mohammed
1914 Madras Bhupendra Nath Basu
1915 Bombay Satyendra Prasanna Sinha
1916 Lucknow Ambica Charan Mazumdar Lucknow Pact – joint session with the Muslim League
1917 Calcutta Annie Besant (1847 – 1933) First woman president of the INC
1918 Bombay And Delhi Syed Hasan Imam (Bombay) And Madan Mohan Malaviya (Delhi) Two sessions were held. First in Bombay in August/September Second in Delhi in December
1919 Amritsar Motilal Nehru Jallianwala Bagh massacre strongly condemned
1920 Nagpur C Vijayaraghavachariar
1921 Ahmedabad Hakim Ajmal Khan (acting President For C R Das)
1922 Gaya C R Das
1923 Kakinada Maulana Mohammad Ali,
1924 Belgaum M K Gandhi
1925 Kanpur Sarojini Naidu (1879 – 1949) First Indian woman president
1926 Guwahati S Srinivasa Iyengar
1927 Madras M A Ansari
1928 Calcutta Motilal Nehru All India Youth Congress formed
1929 Lahore Jawaharlal Nehru Resolution for ‘Poorna Swaraj.’ Civil Disobedience movement for complete independence to be launched, 26 January to be observed as ‘Independence Day’.
1930 No Session
1931 Karachi Vallabhbhai Patel Resolution on fundamental rights and national economic progress. Gandhi-Irwin pact endorsed. Gandhi nominated to represent INC in the second round table conference
1932 Delhi Amrit Ranchhorddas Seth
1933 Calcutta Malaviya Was Elected But Mrs Nellie Sengupta Presided
1934 Bombay Rajendra Prasad
1937 Lucknow Jawaharlal Nehru
1936 Faizpur Jawaharlal Nehru First rural session/first session to be held in a village
1938 Haripura Subhas Chandra Bose National planning committee set up under Nehru
1939 Tripuri Subhas Chandra Bose Bose was elected but had to resign since Gandhi supported Pattabhi Sitaramayya. Instead, Rajendra Prasad was appointed
1940 Ramgarh Abul Kalam Azad
1941-45 No session because of arrest
1946 Meerut Acharya Kripalani Last session before independence
1948 Jaipur Pattabhi Sitaramayya First session after independence
1950 Nashik Purushottam Das Tandon Resigned in 1951; Nehru became President
1951 Delhi Jawaharlal Nehru
1953 Hyderabad Jawaharlal Nehru
1954 Kalyani Jawaharlal Nehru
1955 Avadi(madras) U. N. Dhebar
1956 Amritsar U. N. Dhebar
1958 Gauhati U. N. Dhebar
1959 Nagpur Indira Gandhi
1960 Bangalore Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy
1961 Bhavnagar Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy
1962 Bhubaneshwar Damodaran Sanjvayya
1963 Patna Damodaran Sanjvayya
1964 Bhubaneshwar K. Kamaraj
1965 Durgapur K. Kamaraj

IAS aspirants preparing for UPSC 2023 may check the linked article to prepare as per the upcoming exam.

Furthermore, aspirants must also carefully review the civil services syllabus and exam pattern for a better understanding of the examination and accordingly chalk out the preparation strategy.

To learn about the best strategy to be followed that can help in guiding through the exam preparation, candidates can refer to the IAS topper list and check out their success stories.

Aspirants can refer to the below-mentioned articles similar to the topic ‘Indian National Congress Sessions & Their Presidents’:

IAS aspirants may refer to the articles related to UPSC History subject and IAS exam in the table below:

UPSC 2023


Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button