Ancient History

Kanva Dynasty – Emergence from Shunga Dynasty, List of Rulers, Decline l


Kanva dynasty had a Brahmanic origin. The dynasty was named after the gotra of the ruler Kanva. The Kanva dynasty was founded by Vasudeva Kanva. It is believed that Vasudeva Kanva killed the Shunga ruler Devabhuti and established his own empire in 72 BCE.

Kanva dynasty had a ruling phase from 72 BCE to 28 BCE.

The chronology of Shunga, Kanva dynasty and Satvahana dynasty is given below:

  • Shunga dynasty
  • Kanva dynasty
  • Satvahana dynasty

This article throws light on the emergence of Kanva dynasty from the Shunga dynasty and other important aspects of the events that took place during the rule of the Kanva dynasty.

This is an important topic for UPSC 2023 exam and other government exams.

Era of the Kanva Dynasty (UPSC Notes):- Download PDF Here

Shunga dynasty

The Shunga dynasty formed a large part of Magadha and was founded by Pushyamitra Shunga after the fall of the Mauryan empire. There were 10 rulers who ruled India during the ancient period. Major cultural reforms took place during the reign which is evident from the coins and inscriptions retrieved by archaeologists.

An interesting thing to note about the Sunga dynasty was the emergence of various mixed castes and the integration of foreigners into Indian society.

The language of Sanskrit gained more prominence during the rule of the Shunga kings. Even some Buddhist works of this time were composed in Sanskrit.

The major rulers of the Shunga dynasty were – Pushyamitra Sunga, Agnimitra, Bhagabhadra, Devabhuti, etc.

To know more about the Shunga dynasty, check the linked article.

Kanva dynasty

This dynasty was founded by Vasudeva Kanva. He ruled for a short period and was succeeded by Bhumimitra. The empire was extended into parts of eastern India and central India. The Kanva dynasty had claimed Vidisa as their capital.

The major rulers during that phase were:

  1. Vasudeva Kanva
  2. Bhumimitra
  3. Narayana
  4. Susarman

Bhumimitra ruled for a period of 14 years and his son Narayana ruled for 12 years. The Satvahana dynasty defeated the Kanva dynasty and established their empire. The last Kanva king Susarman was killed by the Satavahana (Andhra) king.

Satvahana dynasty

The Satavahana rule is believed to have started around the third century BC, in 235 BC and lasted until the second century AD. Simuka was the founder of the Satvahana dynasty. Their capital cities varied at different times. Pratishthana (Paithan) and Amaravati were its capitals.

Some experts believe their rule started in the first century BC only. They are referred to as Andhras in the Puranas.

The Satavahana kingdom chiefly comprised of modern-day Andhra Pradesh, Telangana and Maharashtra. At times, their rule also included parts of Karnataka, Gujarat and Madhya Pradesh.

The major rulers of the Satvahana dynasty were – Satakarni, Hala, Gautamiputra Satakarni. The administration of the Satvahana era was purely based on the Shastras and their religious views were liberal.

To know more about the Satvahana dynasty, check the linked article.

Online Quiz 2023

Era of the Kanva Dynasty (UPSC Notes):- Download PDF Here

Related Links:


Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button